Happy birthday to Me! Challenge

By the time you turn 35, birthdays are anti-climatic. We stop giving gifts as much to friends and family at this age, because we can buy what we want when we want. (Okay, I WANT a trip around the world, but who has that kind of money?!) In addition, when your birthday also starts the school year, no one has time or energy to have too much excitement.

This year, I wanted to give my birthday meaning again.

In early August, I posted to my Facebook friends that I was looking for 35 people to spend $29 for my 35th birthday on August 29th. More specifically, I found a local organization that requests Senior Care Kits for senior citizens and Party-in-a-bag kits for children of poverty with details of the bare requirements and what could additionally be included. The $29 (for the most part) covered the basic requirements so each person would give one bag. I set up my Amazon Wish List for those living far away, put the details up on Facebook, made sure Venmo/PayPal/QuickPay were ready to go, and hoped I’d reach my goal.

Throughout the month, I was able to meet friends for coffee, lunch, a visit, or received birthday cards with money or a “present.” This opportunity caused birthday wishes outside of the obligatory “Happy Birthday” post on Facebook and a chance to meet up with friends.

Did I reach my goal? Well, on Tuesday, August 29th, I delivered 22 Party-in-a-bag kits and 21 Senior Care Kits! (Even better, it’s two days later and delayed gifts and money are still coming in!) The gifts, which literally took every inch of space in my car, wowed the organization (and me, too!) I was grinning ear-to-ear, because friends from EIGHT different states showed they care about others, too.

Is there anything better than making a difference on your birthday? Knowing that 43 people were going to have a better day due to an easy challenge I asked my friends to complete is the best gift I could have. Sure, it took some coordination to match Amazon Wish List items together. Yes, it definitely took over my entire dining room table and its chairs. Of course, sending receipts to those that sent me money is taking some skill as did the trips to the store to buy items.

But what a great birthday it was for me! I strongly encourage you to try something like this on your birthday, because it’s a very emotional and wonderful feeling, better than any material gift I can imagine.

Wishing you a warm heart on these final days of summer.

Birthday Challenge

Leave a comment